Drive My Bike


Choose To Ride
June 19, 2010, 11:19 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I had a choice this week… Ride or Drive.

I chose to ride, and it was great. 🙂

Young Boy

I managed to ride to work two days this week, which is quite a jump from the no days schedule in recent months.

Wednesday night I planned ahead to ride Thursday morning, and it was confirmed when my wife asked if she could take my car to drop a friend off at the airport. The weather is getting warmer, and I was concerned that Thursday morning would be a bit chilly, but instead it turned out to be quite nice. I wore a jacket, but started unzipping about halfway to the office. The ride home after work was a good workout, and I was feeling pretty good about myself and my one day of bike commuting for the week.

Thursday night came and I thought about riding again on Friday, but I talked myself out of it. “Don’t want to do too much in a single week yet”, I told myself. Yeah right.

So Friday morning comes, I’m getting ready for work, and I’m conflicted. I’m feeling conservative and thinking I shouldn’t ride again, but there’s a little voice inside that tells me I’m being ridiculous, that I used to do this all the time, and that it is only five miles to the office, so no big deal. I caved, and changed into my riding gear.

It was about the most gorgeous morning for riding that I could imagine. The temperature was perfect, just cool enough for comfort. There was a gentle breeze, but not enough that it was a fight to ride against. Blue skies. Close to perfection. Great ride!

So it’s a long day at work on Friday and the end of the day finally comes about 7:30, and I’m still at the office. My daughter has a softball game on the other side of town in 30 minutes, at 8:00. She’s already at the ballpark with my wife and other daughter. I can ride five miles home and then drive to the ballpark… or I can go into unknown territory and ride to the ballpark. I’d driven there plenty of times, but had never ridden out that way, and I estimated the distance to be about ten miles.

Once again, I chose to ride… and it was a fun adventure. It was about ten miles of urban riding, the last five of which were on a major road with no shoulder (Redwood Road for you locals), so I had to “take the lane” and hold my own in traffic. The traffic wasn’t too heavy, and I only had one person pass me really close. All in all it was a good ride, and the start of the game was delayed a few minutes, so I even made it there in time for the first pitch.

This morning I’m a little stiff and can tell that I rode more this week than I have in a long time, but it was worth it.

Choose to ride.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“… or I can go into unknown territory and ride to the ballpark.” love that
ithink as cyclists of this nation we all have some type of wanderlusting level of curiosity
great post – ride on!!
xxo.m

Comment by meligrosa

Scott
Great post.
Redwood Rd!!! You are brave man!!!
I will only try some areas of Redwood and even those few areas are rather scary.
Hey if you schedule changes for Friday and your are able to make the Antelope island ride, let me know!!!!

Comment by Bobby D

I lost my high paying job and have had my truck repossessed on top of divorce and a son w/leukemia. Anyway I work for a sporting retailer and a few employees commute on bikes…2-10 mi so I borrowed my neighbors bike and tried it out. I am 42 and the distance is 18 mi each way. The first week was tough. Thank god for the hot tub!! but it got easier! Well 2 months later with over 1000 miles pedaled I truly wished I did this years ago!

Comment by T

Are you still choosing to ride? Nice blog btw, particularly enjoyed your writing on rebuilding the old mtb. Inspired to do the same

Comment by magicduncan




Leave a comment