Drive My Bike


And Now For Something Completely Different…
November 17, 2009, 4:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here’s something you don’t see every day… a peloton of sumo wrestlers!

SumoPeloton1

My daughter and I were driving around on Halloween day and came upon one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen when it comes to cyclists. There was a whole group of riders dressed in funny sumo suits. We were actually going the other way when we passed them the first time, but it was so cool that I had to get pictures, so we turned around and passed them again, grabbing some pictures out the window as we went by.

SumoPeloton2

There were probably at least twenty riders, and they were creating quite a stir. Folks were honking and cheering, but they seemed oblivious. I have no idea who the group was, and if the traffic hadn’t been so crazy around them I probably would have tried to make conversation out the window to find out.

SumoPeloton3

It made our day!

In other news…  We’ve had some unseasonably cold temperatures the last few days, which means it was 16-18 degrees (F)  when I left the house in the morning, making for a brisk commute! The temperature has climbed to the mid 30s for the ride home in the evening, and that has felt almost tropical compared to the morning.

The bike commuting herd gets pretty thin when it gets this cold, but I’ve seen more riders still out than I saw last year, which is pretty cool. (No pun intended)

I’ve got my cold weather commuting wear figured out pretty well these days, so I was comfortable. Layering and coverage is everything. Maybe I’ll do a post in the near future to review my current outfit choices.

Thanks for stopping by. Ride Safe!


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that is awesome!! Ive never seen such thing either 😀

Comment by meligrosa

That’s pretty funny. I’ll have to pass this along to the local riding club.

Comment by Greg

Hey, have missed seeing your blogs this year. Are you coming back? Last year I had medical problems and couldn’t ride. This year, I am commuting again and could use some inspiration.

Comment by Lorne

That is awesome!!! I love it 🙂

Comment by lindsay

Comment by roland




Leave a comment