Drive My Bike


Wow… Bicycles Outsold Cars For 1st Quarter of 2009!
May 28, 2009, 11:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

More people bought bicycles than cars? Yes they did.

j0341884

According to The Huffington Post, in the first quarter of 2009, bicycle sales in the US were higher than automobile sales. There were 2.6 million bicycle purchases made, compared to less than 2.5 million automobile purchases.

One thing I found interesting in this article was that both industries suffered a decrease in sales compared to the same time last year. Bicycle sales are down more than 30%, but auto sales are down more than 35%.

Interesting statistics. The times… are they a changin’?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This report really doesn’t surprise me at all. In fact I wonder why it took so long for this to me news worthy. I knew that bike sales would increase last summer when the fuel companies decided to bend all of us over, but you just didn’t hear this information very much in the news. But those of us that do bike commute, have see the number of riders increase over the last few years. When I started to bike commute 4yrs ago, I would see maybe 1 or 2 riders per week. Now I regularly see the same number of riders just on my ride into the office, and maybe more on the ride home. And in most cases I am seeing the same riders more and more. I just love the fact that I can chuckle as I pass gas stations when I ride past and watch as the price at the pump increases, but I also can’t help but think that during my commute, someone else might see me and be motivated to park their own car and give bike commuting a try. 

Comment by Bobby D




Leave a Reply

