Drive My Bike


Snow Ride…
March 9, 2009, 4:16 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Snow ride… Take it easy…”, with props to Foghat.

(For the uninformed, a Foghat is not a helmet with a yellow light mounted on top… go here if you’re confused.)

SnowHelmet

Yes, it snowed today. Yes, I rode home in it. Yes, it was probably the most fun I’ve had on my commute… ever.

Why?

I don’t know. Maybe it’s that little kid playing in the rain kind of thing where you are just out there in the elements and it’s crazy fun. Maybe it’s the awesome looks you get from people as you ride by… with the snow caking on your bike, legs, and helmet. Maybe it’s the feeling of the cold wind and snow on your face… similar to the rush you get when you’re flying down a mountain on a snowboard.

Either way… it was fun!

Here’s what the Trek 830 looked like when I got home…

SnowyTrek830

It was caked with all kinds of snowy stuff, and so was I. My cold weather wet gear did the trick though, because I was warm and dry underneath.

It was great. I highly recommend it!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love. It. We don’t get snow here in New Orleans, and suddenly I’m disappointed!

Comment by Kate

Dedication! It’s the only way to describe it.

Greg

Comment by Greg

I love it!!! Men are designed for adventure – designed to be ‘wild at heart.’ This sounds like a great adventure!

Comment by George Burdell

OK until you have to dismount, (or you fall off) and get your cleats bunged up with packed snow/ice. Short of taking your shoes off and banging them to free up the blockage, that’s just about the end of your ride.

Comment by Richard Fairman




Leave a Reply

