Drive My Bike


Back Again And Long Overdue
January 11, 2009, 7:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, I’m clearly past due on another post. I have been home from Christmas vacation for over a week now, but it has taken me a while to get back in the groove of day to day life.

j0400007

I was in Florida while on vacation, and it was interesting to see the differences in the biking environment compared to my home in Utah. Here are some things I noticed:

  • The roads are a lot less bike friendly. Lots of high traffic roads with no bike lanes and small shoulders.
  • The drivers seemed less bike friendly as well. I didn’t ride at all while I was there, so this is kind of an assumption based on my observations, and some conversation with a Florida bicyclist.
  • In spite of the above, I saw a lot of bicyclists. Large, small, old, young, rich, poor… bicyclists of all types were everywhere.
  • A lot of the bicyclists I saw were riding on the sidewalk, often going against traffic. Maybe this was a response to the less than optimal riding space on the roads.

So I have to give props to all you Florida bicyclists, but I’m glad I get to ride in Utah.

It was good to get home after being gone for over two weeks, but it has been a struggle to get back in the saddle on a regular basis.

It was 9 degrees last Monday when I ventured out for my first ride of the new year. Wow, that was my coldest ride yet, and yes… that was COLD! I got creative with my clothing and added a couple of extra layers. Some parts of me were too warm, some parts were just right, and some parts were numb. Add that to the fact that I felt pretty tired after not riding for a couple of weeks, and Monday’s ride was not very enjoyable.

I ended up working from home the rest of the week due to weather, so I haven’t ridden since then, but I’m planning on riding tomorrow morning. Temps are supposed to be in the high 20s. Hmmm… maybe bicycling in Florida wouldn’t be so bad after all. 🙂

Happy New Year, and thanks for reading.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Scott, Glad you’re back in the saddle. What part of Florida did you go to? We usually try to make it down to the Destin area once a year and always take the bikes. That area of Florida is very bike friendly with many roads having bike lanes. I guess it must be the local governments either making it a priority or not.

Greg

Comment by Greg

We were in Orlando and Daytona. I think I noticed about a mile of road that had a bike lane, and that was it. The traffic itself seemed really intense. I’m sure that the holiday rush only made things worse. There were still bicyclists everywhere. Lots of recreational riders, and also quite a few that looked like they were commuting.

Comment by Scott

Funny that you should mention riding in Florida.
You might find this article rather interesting.

http://commutebybike.com/2009/01/13/bike-miami-days/

Comment by Bobby D




Leave a Reply

