Drive My Bike


24 Miles and 22 Degrees
December 6, 2008, 10:34 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This morning I was scheduled to have breakfast with some guys from church, and I got this crazy idea that I should ride my bike there. What made this seem a bit crazy was that the pancake place was about 12 miles from home, and it was supposed to be in the upper 20’s this morning.

MorningFrost

The farthest I had ever ridden before today was to meet a friend for dinner about 10 miles from home, so a 20 mile round trip. The coldest weather I had ever ridden in before today was a morning commute to work in 28 degrees.

I beat both of those today. It was 22 degrees this morning at 6:30 when I hit the road in the dark. I did the 12 miles to the restaurant in a little less than an hour, which I was happy with since I was trying to take it at a reasonable pace, and there are a few hills on the way.

I found it to be a real psychological challenge, as much as anything. Just past the six mile mark I hit “new territory”, where I had driven many times, but had never been there on a bike. The last mile or so I was counting down the blocks remaining. I was pretty tired when I got to the restaurant.

Breakfast and the time with friends was great, and I had several offers of a ride home, but I thanked them and told them I preferred to ride.

The ride home seemed a lot faster and a lot shorter. I guess that just goes to show how much of a mental game this all is. I was tired when I got home, but not nearly as tired as I was on the way there.

What made me decide to do this? Aside from just wanting to ride my bike somewhere, I think the biggest reason was just to test myself to see if I could really do it. I know that 24 miles is not that far for a lot of the bike commuters I read about, but it was a milestone for me. Combine that with the cold weather, and it was a real mental battle. Last night, and this morning, I kept coming up with all kinds of reasons why it was a bad idea and I shouldn’t try it. I’m glad I did.

So that was my morning… 24 miles and 22 degrees.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulation!
So far for me, it is the cold and bad weather that is my mental change. My coldest ride was last week at 28 degrees and the worst weather condition has been a light drizzling rain. I am really debating whether or not to attempt to ride tomorrow, with a scheduled snow storm coming in. I will have to let you know if I chicken out :-).

Comment by Bobby D

Bobby… I didn’t know we have a storm coming in, until I just read your post, and now I’m already at work. 🙂 I guess maybe I’ll get to ride in snow after all, as I still haven’t done so yet. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Comment by Scott

Update….
😦 Sad to say that I didn’t make my ride this morning. Chickened out due to weather, as well as the need to run around after work. Hopefully tomorrow I will ride.

Comment by Bobby D




Leave a Reply

