Drive My Bike


The Unsung Hero of Bike Commuting Equipment
August 8, 2008, 12:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I just got back from riding my bike over to a local fast food place to pickup my lunch. That got me thinking that I should tell you about one of the pieces of equipment I use that has become absolutely indispensable… my Bungee Cargo Net for my rear rack.Bungee Cargo Net on Rack

I don’t use it all the time, but whenever I need to carry something that won’t fit in my panniers, or that needs to be carried a certain way (like the take out plate of food I just got back with), I fasten it to my rear rack with my cargo net. It is made of bungee material, so it stretches to conform to whatever you are trying to hold.Bungee Cargo Net

It has 4 plastic hooks at the corners, so with a bit of creativity you can fasten almost anything. I have used it to carry my lunch, my floor pump that is about 3 feet long, two 12 packs of soda, and a few other oddly shaped things.

Mine is a Delta Cargo Net II that I purchased from REI, but there are similar ones available elsewhere.

If you don’t have one of these, I would encourage you to purchase one. They are not very expensive, and I have come to consider mine indispensable. I leave it wrapped around my rack when not in use, and I can attach my panniers without even removing it. It is always there when I need to carry something, and I consider it the unsung hero of my bike commuting equipment.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

