Drive My Bike


The Mixed Blessing Of Equipment Failure
August 7, 2008, 4:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

I go into the office a couple of days a week, and work at home the rest. Usually, I ride my bike to the office, but this week I had several situations come up that made biking a challenge, so I drove my car. I hadn’t ridden for several days, and seeing all the bikers on the road, while I was in my car, was just killing me. On one of my normal office days I ended up staying home because I was getting my DSL service upgraded, and I was supposed to be at home to meet the technician who came out to prep for the upgrade. Well, the technician never showed up, but I did get the upgraded DSL, and I have been loving it. (12Mb Fiber for you geeks out there) Anyway, today I was working at home, enjoying my new DSL, and all of a sudden my the DSL quit working. Not just slow… but bam… dead stop. I fiddled with the router for a few minutes, but I wasn’t even getting a DSL signal light. So, I called my DSL provider, and was informed that there was a big problem at the central office, and they had dispatched technicians, and they said it would be back up again within 24 hours. Within 24 hours?!!! That makes things a bit difficult when you need your Internet connection for work. Argh!j0427672

There is a bright side to this. Instead of jumping in the car, I rode my bike to the office. I hadn’t ridden for over a week. It was in the middle of the day, and it was hot, and I was a bit tired, and it was great! It kind of freaks me out that I have become so hooked on this bicycling thing. I guess there are certainly worse things to get hooked on. At least this addiction pays back with things like fitness, peace of mind, less concern with gas prices, and just plain fun.

So yeah, equipment failure isn’t always a bad thing.

By the way, my last article ended up being featured on WordPress.com’s home page, which brought in a lot of new traffic over the last few days. That was quite a surprise! So welcome to all the new readers, and thanks for all your great comments.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congrats on the feature… thats pretty cool. Oh and congrats on the DSL breaking down…. no wait i mean…. well it is nice to ride a bike.

Comment by bikingbristol

Very nice blog. I have enjoyed going through it and will visit again.

Comment by RBK




Leave a comment