Drive My Bike


How Far Is Too Far?
July 18, 2008, 1:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I was supposed to meet a friend for dinner last night, at a fast food place about 10 miles away. Normally, I would have driven this distance, but I decided that I would take the leap and ride my bike for the 20 mile round trip. My family looked at me like I was crazy when I announced my intentions. The best reaction I got was when I came riding up to the restaurant and my friend looked at me in disbelief as he exclaimed “You rode your bike?”

I have to admit that I was quite intimidated by that distance, and actually was trying to convince myself that I wasn’t crazy. Prior to this ride the farthest I had gone was a little over 8 miles each way, for a total of 16 miles round trip. Now that is nothing to a lot of you riders out there, and I know that guys like Tom do more than that every day on their commute to work, but for me it was a new adventure.

Overall, the ride went well, and I felt quite strong on the way there. The ride home was more difficult, and I was awfully glad when I pulled onto my street and could see my house up the block. Not only did I survive, but I did it! Even though I was tired, 20 miles really didn’t seem like 20 miles, and I would definitely do it again.

What about you? I know that some readers are just starting to ride, while some readers have been riding for years. What are your longest commutes? How far is too far for a commute?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I commute 15 to 20 miles each way depending if I use public transportation for part of it.

Currently I am struggling on the hills when commuting home because I was off my bike due to an auto accident while working. I am committed to commuting at least twice a week and now it looks like I am going to ride three times this week. The sense of accomplishment is a great incentive to keep commuting.

Isn’t it fun when peole are surprised you rode! 🙂

Comment by Bob

Nice going Scott! I was big into cycling before I was old enough to drive, and so through my teenage years I was able to scoot around town. I was able to acheive basically the same sense of freedom that someone gets when they get their first automobile, but I didn’t have to wait until I was 16. Driving around the city isn’t really all that fast, and I’ve found that an in-shape cyclist can usually get around nearly as fast. One time I raced and beat a city bus from one end of Orem (UT) to the other (I was racing, he was just doing his thing).

Comment by Nathan Allan




Leave a Reply

