Drive My Bike


Be Careful Out There!
July 17, 2008, 8:33 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Wow… I saw this on the news last night, and it’s a good reminder to all of us that spend time in traffic on our bikes. In Portland, a bicyclist and a motorist exchanged words, and the situation escalated into the motorist ramming the cyclist, with the cyclist ending up hanging onto the hood of the car. The motorist then drove off with the cyclist still on the hood of the car, and continued to drive wildly trying to throw the cyclist off of the hood. A witness got some shocking video as the car sped by with the cyclist on the hood. The motorist was later arrested.

Remember that a car is much bigger than you are, and it will always win versus your bike. Even if you are in the right, it is not worth dying to try to save face, or advance the cause of cycling. Ride safely. Watch your temper in traffic. Be careful out there!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

After a long vacation, I decided to get myself a new bike. My main reason was to encourage myself to ride the bike to work (4.5miles away). (Hey I just got a new bike, kind of thing). Oh yeah, I went to all of the bicyle shops in the Tri-valley area (well maybe not all) to find a nice bike that I can afford and ended up buying a Schwinn Midtown @ Costco. Nice bike for the price.

On my first morning to work, I was almost hit by a delivery truck. It was so close that I can feel the heat coming the engine of the truck. The left side of my body was just inches away from the hood. When I look up the driver was looking on his left while turning right towards me. The light was red for crying out loud. I was almost certain that the truck was going to hit me.

Be carefull out there! The drivers either don’t see you or they want to scare.

Comment by Baltz

Wow, glad you are ok! I hope you enjoy your bike commuting. My commute is about 5 miles each way, and it seemed like a long way at first, but now I’m used to it and it is no big deal. Thanks for reading and stay safe!

Comment by Scott




Leave a Reply

