Drive My Bike


A Great Day After All
July 8, 2008, 7:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Yesterday was one of those mornings when I just did not want to ride. I’m not sure why, but when I woke up I was coming up with all kinds of excuses not to ride my bike to work. It was helpful that I had prepared the night before, and I had my bag packed and everything ready to go, so I just went into autopilot and started preparing to ride… grumbling to myself most of the way.

Now, I did a lot of running in high school, both cross country and track & field, so I should remember that sometimes it seems like I feel the worst right before some kind of performance breakthrough. Well, yesterday was also one of those days.

I didn’t really notice it until I got to the mild hill that is near the end of my ride in to work. Usually I have to drop down 3-4 gears and lose a bunch of speed to make it up that hill, but yesterday it just seemed like I was able to keep going. I eventually did drop 2 gears by the time I hit the top, but I had never felt that strong before.

The ride home was even better, as I have to face the other side of that hill on my way home. This time I was able to make it over the top dropping only one gear, and it felt so great to crest that little hill with a good head of steam. It also helped that the vehicle traffic was backed up for blocks due to some road construction, so I was passing all the cars that were stuck in the stop and go situation.

Yesterday turned out alright after all… it was a good day to be on a bike!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Lesson #1:

It’s ALWAYS a good day to be on the bike.

Comment by Lazy Bike Commuter

I love it when I can pass cars. Sometimes drivers look at you with stunned faces. Yes bicylces are a great way to travel!

Comment by Tom




Leave a Reply

