Drive My Bike


I’m Doing It!
June 10, 2008, 1:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

About a month ago, I got this crazy idea that I would start riding my bike to work.  Maybe it was the gas prices, maybe it was the need for exercise, maybe it was just wanting my life to just be a little more basic… I don’t really know… but I decided to make the leap.  I hadn’t owned a bike in years, so I looked around a little bit, without really having much of a clue, and I bought a “comfort” bike at Costco.  So it began…

Being the kind of person that I am, I have now become quite obsessed with all things bicycling.  My Google Reader has subscriptions to a bunch of blogs, and I can’t wait to read the new posts.  I know the URLs to a bunch of online bike related stores, and have actually done business with a few of them.  I’ve found a couple of local bike shops that I like, and a few that I don’t.  I’ve learned enough that I’m not sure I should’ve bought that Costco bike, but I’m going to stick with it for a bit.  I’ve spent far more money on “the other stuff” than the original $250 I told my wife I needed to get started.

But the best part of all is that I am actually doing it.  I am riding my bike all over the place now, and I really enjoy it (Well, ok, there’s been a few rides that I thought were going to kill me).  I’ve “officially” been commuting for two weeks now, and have logged almost 50 miles in those two weeks.

I’ve also learned that my idea wasn’t so crazy, and there are lots of people doing exactly the same thing.  I want to share my journey, so that’s why I’m blogging here.  Hopefully you’ll enjoy the journey along with me.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

